Postpartum Hair Loss


It’s real.  When Joey was about 4 months old, all my luscious hair decided it wanted to fall out all at once. Probably because of my hormones trying to revert to normal as quick as humanly possible.  I cut my hair short and within a week my hair started falling out and I had many bald patches.  This is what the regrowth looks like a year and 3 months later.  No, I never got bangs.  This is some of the bald spots growing back.  In fact, more than half my hair is this length while the rest is 6 inches longer which is why my hair is almost always in a pony.  I need to find some time and moola to start the “evening out” process until my hair is all one length.  It’s just as awful as growing out a pixie except from being bald in random places for a few months.  Also have to find a new salon since I’m 2 hours from my favorite stylist ever 😐
If you have any tips on how to speed up the regrowth after I finally take care of this mop with a fresh cut, I’m all ears.  My biggest hit to self confidence after the baby (appearance wise) was definitely the dramatic and unexpected hair loss.  

#NotRealBangs 

Here’s what it looked like when it first started falling out.  It only got worse from here:

One thought on “Postpartum Hair Loss

  1. My daughter is 9 months old and the same thing happened to me! I promptly cut all my hair off to hide the bald spots. It’s starting to grow back now with awkward tiny little short hairs! I’m sorry you went through this, too!

Leave a Reply

