Baby Joey – 7 months


I feel like I always start these posts with “wow what a busy month it has been” but truly that is definitely the case with Baby Joey’s sixth month.  Since turning 6 months we packed up everything we owned, fit it on a 26 foot truck, a 10 foot truck, another 10 foot truck, and 4 FULL car loads (no lie…), and made the 130 mile move north to Waverly Township in our new home.  When I tell you that these trucks were packed top to bottom utilizing all of the vertical space, I am not lying.  I cannot believe how much stuff we have.  It definitely doesn’t look like that when you look at the house but there was so much…and it is almost finally all put away!

I made my trip up to the new house with a packed car, 2 cats, and the baby on a Friday morning.  Unfortunately he had a stomach virus the week of the move and we had a full 10 days of poo every hour on the hour.  At least we prevented diaper rash by acting quick with the triple paste and using warm rags in lieu of wipes…last time he was so raw and I felt so bad for how much pain he was in.  The first 1 1/2 hours of the trip flew by with lots of cries from the cats but a silent baby…that all ended in the last 30 minutes when he started screaming so loud.  I couldn’t concentrate.  I called my mother to meet me at the new house and the phone disconnected and all she heard was half hour and screaming so she darted to the new house to meet me and laid a blanket on the floor since she knew there was bound to be a poo…there was.  I called my husband to just talk to me as my anxiety was pretty bad at this point and he advised that I pull over and change him but I hadn’t a clue where any of his bags were and I had no where in the car to change him since it was packed.  I decided to pull over at the toll booth and give him a binky and tell him we were almost home.  He calmed down enough for me to feel comfortable and keep going and he screamed the last 10 miles of the journey until we pulled up in the new driveway where he decided that’s when he was done.  I rushed him inside, changed his diaper, and introduced him to his new home.

He’s done a lot of learning this last month, too.  In addition to “dada” and only saying “mama” when he was upset he now says “mama” quite frequently to gain my attention, he can also say “baba” and I swear he is saying “more” when he eats and he gives me the sign for more…but it’s more like “maaaaaa” as he’s doing the sign lol.  He can sign both “more” and “mama” and discovered he can clap like an excited member of an audience cheering on their favorite artist!  He’s still a very tall and skinny man wearing size 12 months clothes because he is so long but only just recently moving up to size 3 diaper since he has such a tiny waist and hiney!  We are currently getting his records transferred from his old doctor to his new one since he had to skip his flu shot when he was sick so we need to get that going immediately especially if we are in search of a daycare to get him out and active 1 day each week (and so mommy can have a break of triple duty of baby, work, and school!).

He’s sitting up by himself although doesn’t understand sometimes he has to actively keep himself up or he will fall…he is awesome at sitting I just wouldn’t call him functional just yet…have a little more learning to do before that but I’ve seen pivots with his arms recently so we are on our way to functional sitting!  He scooches just a tad but I think that will turn into crawling quite quickly as the little butt is going directly in the air to try to help out the scooch.  He can hold himself up in a standing position with the assistance of furniture…watch out!  He loves his walker.  He loves his jumper.  If he could walk and jump all day I think he would…this boy has energy.  He loves belly sleeping and can sleep 10-11 hours at night on his belly.

His pop pop misses him and is coming up for a visit this weekend to go to his very first visit to a pumpkin patch!  The baby also got to experience his first snow this past Saturday.

I can’t believe how jam packed this month actually was but there was a lot of moving and developing going on and I can’t wait to see what the next month brings, although I do wish time would pause for a little while so I can enjoy all of these milestones before they continue to whiz by.  Oh and those who are still on tooth watch, you’re still going to have to wait.  STILL no teeth although we keep swearing he’s on the verge of busting one out…I can see it, he can feel it, and I feel bad it hurts him but they NEED to come out…so teeth, if you can hear me…man up and come out.

7 months-01 7 months-02 7 months-03 7 months-04 7 months-05 7 months-06 7 months-07

IMG_6113 IMG_6150 IMG_6174 IMG_6223 IMG_6257 IMG_6275 IMG_6285 IMG_6298 IMG_6306 IMG_6317 IMG_6352 IMG_6363 IMG_6369 IMG_6390 IMG_6393 IMG_6403 IMG_6424 IMG_6425 IMG_6434 IMG_6470 IMG_6506 IMG_6509 IMG_6510 IMG_6527

  
  
  

2 thoughts on “Baby Joey – 7 months

Leave a Reply

