Baby Joey – 2 month update


So I officially have a 2 month old…I could cry!  I just want time to stop so I can enjoy it, it is going by way too quickly!

Developmentally, he is crazy advanced!  He’s smiling as a reaction now and not because he is sleeping or gassy and lets out a cute little squeal when he has a big smile on, he’s following me with his eyes and follows objects as well.  He can pick my voice out and look in my direction even when there’s a lot going on.  At day care he was sound asleep and I walked in and started talking and he immediately woke up and looked for me…it was freaking adorable.  He’s reaching for objects and batting at them.  His leg muscles are great and wants to stand up a lot.  He is holding his head up high and very steady.  He rolled from belly to back!  He’s finding his voice and playing with it.  He’s starting to explore with his mouth, the kid licks everything.  I just bought a necklace that’s safe for babyies so he can play with it while I hold him and I don’t have to worry about keeping it away from his mouth.  He’s grabbing and holding onto things (re: have to buy a baby safe necklace for this reason, too!).  The list just grows and grows every day with things he’s learning.  I’m proud of his smarts!  He’s also so much more alert and stays up for a few hours at a time now.  I try to give him tummy time when he’s awake and happy as much as possible, but it can only be done in small stints being a reflux baby…

His weight is currently 11lb 5.5oz and he’s now 23.5 inches tall.  His weight puts him in the 44th percentile and height he’s at 73% (I believe).  His head measured 15 but I forget what percentile he was placed in for that…but he’s following the curve nicely!

We are still having reflux issues and I have a feeling they are going to up his dosage for zantac at the follow up appointment but for now we have to deal with the spit up as they didn’t recommend changing anything until the next appointment on June 16th.

The poor baby got 4 shots yesterday at his appointment and will be getting 4 more shots in 2 months at his 4 month appointment.  He was sore and cranky after that so we gave him a little tylenol after his 7 o’clock bottle and it helped his ouch legs and made him more comfortable…he was also feeling a little warm which they said would be normal having a low grade fever with the vaccines.  He seems to be much better today, but he is at day care and has been changed into new clothing so I’m wondering if it was a blow out or a spit up issue.

Joey teaches us life lessons all the time…the one he did yesterday was NEVER under ANY circumstances leave the house without an overly stocked diaper bag.  We took him to his appointment expecting to be out of the house for an hour with 3 diapers, wipes, 2 burp rags, a swaddle blanket, and a disposable changing pad.  That’s it.  In the waiting room, sitting in his car seat he had a massive blow out.  MASSIVE.  We had no spare clothes and Joe ran out of wipes as he was cleaning him up.  The burp rags were dirty as well.  OMG.  Good thing we brought a blanket and I had a sweater on that we draped over him in the car seat when we were leaving because otherwise he’d be naked…and it was chilly out.  I will NEVER leave the house without no less than a fully stocked nursery in my bag.  I can’t risk that anymore! LOL.

We have a sleeper, too!  He’s been sleeping great, there’s times we have to wake him up because we need to get him ready for daycare so I think he’d sleep even longer than what he has been if we just didn’t bother him.  I’m going to test that theory out this weekend but we have gotten 7 hour stretches out of him which is absolutely amazing.

There’s been a lot of craziness at home and it has been making me feel pretty isolated and lonely but some of my family is coming up for his christening this weekend so that should help for a little bit.  We are trying to keep it a very small get together because of the craziness and my anxiety/PPD so only immediate family and very close friends have been invited to keep my nerves in check.  This is the longest stretch of time my mom has been separated from the baby since he was born so I have to be careful not to get trampled by her when she comes bolting through my door on Sunday morning!  lol.

Here’s a couple pictures I took of him yesterday on his 2 month anniversary of tearing apart my lady parts!  He’s too adorable – he makes my heart melt! ❤

I'm 2 months old!

I’m 2 months old!

Every time I put the camera to my face he looks at me like I'm an alien LOL

Every time I put the camera to my face he looks at me like I’m an alien LOL

Caught a smile as he was ripping off his sticker!

Caught a smile as he was ripping off his sticker!

4 thoughts on “Baby Joey – 2 month update

  1. ah big smiles! haha i hear ya on the “thinking you’ve packed enough”. baby girl peed all over everything when i my hubby was changing her at her hearing test haha. he put her in a swaddle bag. worked pretty well. after that, i remembered to put extra outfits everywhere – change bag and both cars. glad to hear joey is doing so well. love these monthly updates 🙂 our dr. mentioned that maeve is very strong and alert for 4 weeks. i was like, “ya, duh, she’s our bionic baby. scientifically created in a lab” LOL bigger, better, fast, stronger 😉

Leave a Reply

