Two days before Induction


Can you believe it…two days?  TWO DAYS until my scheduled induction.  And one day before I go into the hospital for “ripening” – crazy, right?

We had our final doctor’s appointments yesterday and here’s the results:

I tested negative for Group B Strep (hoorah!)

My final weigh in showed a total weight gain of 32.5 lbs during this pregnancy – not sure where that all is?  Maybe in my MASSIVE PLACENTA?

Speaking of Placenta…it actually MOVED and is clear of the whole 2cm restriction for a safe natural birth (even though my doctor was willing to let me try since it was over 1cm last month…but now there is no issue)

I’m starting to thin out on my own and my cervix is starting to shorten, but no dilation on my own…so still need to go through with the ripening tomorrow night.

Baby boy is totally head down and locked and loaded…his head is way down in my pelvis and is ready to make his grand entrance.

The ultrasound tech is very happy I’m being induced on Friday since the placenta is beginning to calcify – seems like this is a side effect of cholestasis and causes early labor in many undiagnosed cases.

Baby boy is weighing in at 5lb 15oz per the ultrasound.

I still can’t believe how close this is.  We finally have hot water (thank you Joe!!!).  Joseph worked on the new heater as soon as we got home from the ultrasound yesterday until nearly 2am last night…but we have hot water.  THANK GOD.  Everything is falling into place.  I have my hospital bag packed with everything except last minute items like my phone charger, makeup bag, and toothbrush/toothpaste.  I wrote all the thank you cards out from the shower, all I need is to look up addresses and buy stamps.  I’m hoping to drop those off at the post office while we are en route to the hospital tomorrow if I get all the addresses in time!  I also spoke with Joe’s ex-neighbor who does financial planning about a college fund…once we have baby home and settled we are going to meet with him about setting up baby’s college fund.  I have some money that has been sitting around for a year, untouched, and have more coming in to be our “emergency fund” so I’d like to get things rolling for baby sooner rather than later so the money has more time to grow!

Baby Boy's final ultrasound - 36w4d (they are always one day off on the ultrasound, not sure why?)

Baby Boy’s final ultrasound – 36w4d (they are always one day off on the ultrasound, not sure why?)

Baby boy, please be good to mama…let’s make this a safe birthday for you and we are so excited to finally meet you!  I don’t know how much sleep I’m going to get between now and your arrival because I’m just too excited but Friday can’t come soon enough!

20 thoughts on “Two days before Induction

  1. Eeeek! Exciting! Best of luck to both of you. I gained 33 lbs. Think it was in my butt and bra. Mostly my bra. Can’t wait to hear how it goes x

    • I have everything I needed on my list! I asked about my medication yesterday at my appointment as well as some people say the hospital will supply your prescriptions but they don’t always carry the specific brand so I opted to pack all of my own, including my prenatal since that is also a prescription.

  2. I am so, so excited for you and wish you a happy and speedy induction! I too was induced at 37 weeks, and I documented my baby’s birth story here: lifewithbusybee.com let me know if you’d like to read it and I’ll give you access!

    • Thank you! I hope he is as kind to me as I was to my mom…although I don’t think anyone can beat my grand entrance of only a few minutes at the hospital before I came roaring out!

Leave a Reply

