Cholestasis – countdown is now 5 1/2 weeks


We were officially in the single digits in a weekly countdown anyways, but now we subtracted 3 weeks right off of that.

After waiting what felt like forever for the results of my blood test from 1/30, one of the doctors finally called me last night saying the results were in and I was right…my bile salt levels were elevated enough to be diagnosed with Cholestasis.

I’ll be starting Ursodiol hopefully tonight if the pharmacy receives it today (had to special order it) and hopefully get some relief from the itchies in a few days when the medicine kicks in.

Even if the medication brings the bile salt count down in my blood stream they will still induce around 37 weeks as a precaution because the medication is meant only for relief for me and is safe to take while pregnant so I’ll feel better and baby will be here sooner than anticipated!  We are looking at around March 20th but nothing has been scheduled yet….that will happen as the date draws closer.  I also have to go into the office twice a week for non stress tests to make sure baby is OK with all that is going on.

But yeah, my intuition was absolutely correct which makes me much more infuriated with the nurse who said it was nothing and just to appease me would send me for blood work.  Asshat.

I guess this helps my planning personality and subdues my fears of my water breaking in public at the most inappropriate time, but I now also have to change my birth preferences as not being induced was a part of the preferences…Also, I’m so glad I scheduled my maternity shoot for 36 weeks lol – just in the nick of time!

5 thoughts on “Cholestasis – countdown is now 5 1/2 weeks

  1. Wow! That’s coming up so soon. I too was induced at 37 weeks due to pre-eclampsia and everything turned out fine. A fair bit of warning though, your cervix will likely need to be ripened, which for me was the most painful part of labor (I was shocked it hurt so much.) My baby was healthy, although a little bit sleepy and we struggled with nursing (who doesn’t?) but she has not had any delays at all.

  2. Sorry you are having to deal with Cholestasis. Way to go trusting your gut though!!! See, that motherhood instinct has already kicked in. 🙂 I had my first baby at 37 weeks and he was perfectly fine. We just struggled a little with him being sleepy and not immediately figuring out how to nurse properly but he adjusted quickly in a couple days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

