Seriously? How do you fail at that?


You’d think that a “simple” procedure such as the coculture would at least be an easy thing for us…right? I mean they take my blood, they take a hunk or 2 of tissue, they grow said tissue on a petri dish…no problemo!

Well…leave it to me to throw the twist in here…get this…my cells didn’t freaking grow on the god damn Petri dish so there is no sample to freeze to use for the next cycle!

What?!

I’m serious.  And there is no good reason why.  There is actually no reason why at all.  They have no clue and the only thing I was told was not to worry because it doesn’t mean there is anything wrong, these things just happen sometimes for unknown reasons.

Part of me wonders if that is just an excuse for someone’s mistake? Was there a cross contamination that caused this that I don’t know about?

What I am left with right now is 2 options.  I can either go through the pain of the biopsy again or I can just let them use the gallon of blood they took from me in preparation of creating the coculture…they would use the blood instead of the tissue and blood combination to aid in embryo quality. 

I really really don’t want to do another biopsy because 1. it REALLY hurts and 2. there is nothing wrong with me or anything on my part and there is no proof that this aids in male infertility AT ALL (which was admitted to me by my doctor when I asked her the day she tore my insides out), to me this is just an added step and more money for those who have a failed IVF.  If it were me having the problems then I would say sure, go ahead, tear me a new one again with my legs propped up proudly, but ever since I asked my doctor point blank how this will help the Male DNA and she said it won’t I didn’t think I should be doing this.

Needless to say I am veering on the side of not going through the torture again.  I am just so angry that nothing ever goes right with us.  NOTHING.  I gave that a valiant effort even though I didn’t agree with why it was being done, I followed all the directions to a T, and I still failed.

What a lovely start to the weekend.  I also got to take the phone call at work and act like nothing was wrong for the rest of the day since basically everyone except my boss has no idea what is going on with me…yay for pretend happiness…I guess I am used to that at this point.

I hope everyone else is having a better start to their weekend than me.  Hopefully it will get better once I get to see my nieces and nephew’s at the super hero themed birthday party…I’m batgirl 🙂

End Rant.

Leave a Reply

